Home > All News > News Headline
Walkinshaw Racing
05 OCT 2017
Introducing Walkinshaw Andretti United, A New Force in Supercars
Walkinshaw Racing is excited to announce a new Supercars partnership with Andretti Autosport and United Autosports, creating Walkinshaw Andretti United, effective January 1, 2018.

Our Team is thrilled to be entering the next chapter of its great, proud history, alongside two iconic brands who are both entrenched in motor sport around the world, combining forces to create a new racing enterprise.

Walkinshaw Racing Chairman Ryan Walkinshaw said creating Walkinshaw Andretti United is a game-changer in the Supercars landscape.

"To be able to partner with both Andretti Autosport and United Autosports is an honour," Mr Walkinshaw said.

"We've looked from afar at what both have to offer the team moving forward, which is why everyone should be so excited.

"Fundamentally, we are doing it differently. This combination of international expertise is a pivotal step in accelerating our development, getting us where we need to be.

"We've been looking for partners who can add value to this team, both on and off the track, so to find that so resoundingly is the most pleasing element.

"It's not only an alliance of technical expertise, but commercial prowess. Their experience, knowledge and record, both on and off the race-track, gives us, our current partners, and any future partners, access to global networks and talent pools.

"Today is the beginning of a new era. We are still firmly focused on the job at hand for 2017, but are eagerly looking forward to 2018."

This new racing partnership is pending board approval from Supercars. In the meantime, the team will be focussing on continual improvement during the Supercars current season whilst gearing up for a strong start to the 2018 Supercars Championship.


Andretti Autosport was born in 2009 by second-generation racer Michael Andretti, who has been raising the bar as a driver, team owner, and businessman throughout his illustrious career.

The four-time IndyCar Championship and two-time Global Rallycross Champion team is based in Indianapolis, Indiana. Andretti Autosport boasts a wide portfolio rooted in tradition and history, designed for success. The team holds five Indianapolis 500 victories and fields entries in the IndyCar Series, Indy Lights, the FIA Formula-E Championship and the Global Rallycross Championship.

Michael Andretti, CEO and Chairman, Andretti Autosport:

"I'm very excited to announce our new partnership with Walkinshaw Racing and United Autosports. I have always set a goal for Andretti Autosport to diversify and succeed across multiple platforms, and this opportunity is a natural next step for the team as we continue to expand globally. Together with Walkinshaw Racing and United Autosports, we now have three iconic organisations working together. We are determined to succeed, and I have full confidence that this new venture, Walkinshaw Andretti United, will become a leading Supercars team."


Based in Indianapolis and led by racing legend Michael Andretti, Andretti Autosport boasts a wide racing portfolio rooted in tradition and designed for success. Together with Andretti Formula E and Andretti Rallycross, Andretti Autosport fields multiple entries in the IndyCar Series and Indy Lights, along with entries in the FIA Formula E Championship and Global Rallycross.

The company boasts four IndyCar Series championships (2004, 2005, 2007, 2012), two Indy Lights titles (2008, 2009), one Pro Mazda championship (2013) and one USF2000 championship (2010) and has captured victory five times at the famed Indianapolis 500-Mile Race (2005, 2007, 2014, 2016, 2017). Additionally, the team holds two X Games Gold Medals and two Global Rallycross championship (2015, 2016).


United Autosports was founded in 2009 by Zak Brown and Richard Dean, experienced in a vast range of championships and areas. The team are the reigning European Le Mans Series LMP3 Champions and currently lead the championship with one round remaining.

Zak Brown, Team Owner and Chairman, United Autosports:

"I'm delighted United Autosports have joined forces with Walkinshaw Racing and Andretti Autosport. It is bringing together three iconic names in motor sport across three continents Europe, Australia and America, where we can share our experience and resources to make each team stronger."

Richard Dean, Team Owner and Managing Director, United Autosports:

"I think combining three successful motor sport companies who can share technical knowledge and commercial experience can only be a good thing for all parties involved. Nothing will change with the day-to-day running of United Autosports, we will simply be able to benefit from the experience of these two other teams. I'm looking forward to working with everyone at Walkinshaw and Andretti."


United Autosports is a world-class race and championship-winning team owned by American businessman, Zak Brown and British racing driver, Richard Dean. United Autosports are current European Le Mans Series LMP3 Champions after clinching the title in 2016 with three wins and five podiums out of six races. After winning the 2016 title, the team expanded into the LMP2 class, along with continuing with their LMP3 programme for 2017.

The team work in association with some of the most famous names in motor sport with drivers such as Martin Brundle, Mark Blundell, Stefan Johansson, Johnny Herbert, Arie Luyendyk and David Brabham having driven for the team. United Autosports have raced successfully in various international events, such as the British GT Championship, Spa 24 Hours, Blancpain Endurance Championship, Bathurst 12 Hours, Abu Dhabi 12 Hours, Dubai 24 Hours, British Touring Car Championship, Macau GT Cup, Intercontinental Le Mans Cup and the Daytona 24 Hours. They are well-known for racing across the world in America, Australia, Asia and Europe.
4 Oct - 7 Oct 2018
Practice 1 (All-Drivers)
Days Hours Mins Secs
  • Thursday
    • Practice 1 (All-Drivers) 60 Minutes 09:35 - 10:35
    • Practice 2 (Co-Drivers) 60 Minutes 12:55 - 13:55
    • Practice 3 (All-Drivers) 60 Minutes 15:05 - 16:05
  • Friday
    • Practice 4 (Co-Drivers) 60 Minutes 08:30 - 09:30
    • Practice 5 (All-Drivers) 60 Minutes 11:15 - 12:15
    • Qualifying 40 Minutes 15:50 - 16:30
  • Saturday
    • Practice 6 (All-Drivers) 60 Minutes 10:05 - 11:05
    • Top 10 Shootout 45 Minutes 17:10 - 17:55
  • Sunday
    • Warm Up 20 Minutes 08:05 - 08:25
    • Race 20 161 Laps 11:10 - 18:00

Should Supercars change the kerb strike technology?
Yes - invest in better technology used in other categories
No - Change track designs to use non technical methods (tyres etc)
No - Drivers need to learn the track limits

You must be signed in to cast your vote
Supercar Drivers Championship
1 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden 2778  
2 Scott McLaughlin Ford 2759  
3 Jamie Whincup Holden 2416  
4 Craig Lowndes Holden 2229  
5 David Reynolds Holden 2213  
Supercar Teams Championship
1 Triple Eight Race Engineering (1/97) 5194  
2 DJR Team Penske 4681  
3 Brad Jones Racing (8/14) 3423  
4 Tickford Racing (5/55) 3421  
5 Erebus Motorsport 3414  
Supercar Manufacturer Championship
1 Holden 14
2 Ford 8
3 Nissan 1
Contact Us | Donate | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Information | Championship History
Copyright © 2017, Daily Dump. All Rights Reserved.